Roundabouts: Do they work?

roundabout

If you’ve ever been to Europe, you’ve likely encountered numerous roundabouts before.

In the States, we have what are called 4-way stops. I had never seen a roundabout before  visiting Romania, so needless to say, I was a little confused as to how it worked! But once we went through several of these roundabouts (some single-laned and some with two lanes), I realized they weren’t too complicated.

It wasn’t until I randomly came across a roundabout an hour away from where I live that I began to wonder which method worked better. Luckily, Mythbusters also wondered the same thing back in August of this year.

I’m not going to spoil the answer, so if you want to find out if 4-way stops or roundabouts are more efficient, then check out the video below! (Plus if you ever plan on visiting Romania, this will come in handy! ;))

Have any thoughts or experiences concerning roundabouts vs. 4-way stops? Tell me in the comment section below!

6 thoughts on “Roundabouts: Do they work?

  1. My first Roundabout was in Jamaica…first time through was slightly nerve racking. They work. The most IMPRESSIVE was an afternoon …we were in the roundabout and a small child coming from school…needed to cross…one man stopped his car…got out took the child by the hand….everybody stopped their cars and let the man take the child across and allowed him to get back into his car…then off everybody went. …

  2. In my hometown (Rock Hill SC) we have about two roundabouts in town. When they first showed up, I was really confused, but they seem to serve a purpose. It’s also pretty comical to see a car continue to go around the roundabout. 🙂

    -Allison

Leave a Reply

