It’s Piaţă Day!

One of my favorite things to do in Romania is go to the local piaţă (pee-YAHT-sa), which is basically like a flea market. Both local and traveling vendors bring their goods to the piaţă each week. Different towns in Romania each have their piaţă on different days of the week, making it convenient for traveling vendors whose incomes rely solely on their profits made at the piaţă.

Below is a picture of a market area the day before piaţă. On Thursdays in this particular town, this entire area is flooded with people.

Like a flea market in America, a piaţă typically lasts only from sunup until about midday. People sell all sorts of things such as fruits and vegetables, shoes and clothes, tools, artwork… you name it! But at around lunchtime, people start packing up their things to leave.

It’s not uncommon to see large selections of produce on the streets during piaţă. You can typically get a lebeniţă (watermelon) for very cheap!

watermelons

Unfortunately these are the only two piaţă-related pictures I have, mainly because I don’t like lugging my camera around there since I know I never return from the piaţă empty-handed. I’ve bought things from the piaţă such as keychains, fruit, jewelry… all for really affordable prices. This summer I found a beautiful gypsy-style skirt there for the equivalent of 1 USD!

If you ever go to Romania, I highly recommend checking out each piaţă you come across. You can get some really great deals on souvenirs, clothes, and delicious foods! And if you’ve never been to a “flea market” before at all in your own country, you should find one near where you live asap; you never know what treasures you might find!

So what about you? Do you enjoy going to markets such as these, or do you prefer going to a store to buy what you need?

6 thoughts on “It’s Piaţă Day!

  1. I loved the Piata!! I thought they were open every day in Calarasi, at least the ones that sold only veggies/fruit. I juiced daily so I had to shop every couple days. The old women would see me coming and treat me like an american rock star. In the south they didn’t have tourists, didn’t speak english, and we were the only americans in the county so it was a big deal to them. I also went to a gypsy market and bought a really cool gypsy skirt but I left it there when I tried to lighten up my luggage. I will definitely be bringing one back and a bumper sticker after my next visit.

    • I had a similar experience with a guy selling placintes at the piata! When he found out I was an American, he gave his “American friend” a “bonus” placinte! haha 😉
      Sorry to hear you had to leave your skirt! I’m so glad I had room for mine… I absolutely love it!

  2. Pingback: The Delicious Plăcintă | Recommendation: Romania

  3. Also on Sundays. Then the market is a bit smaller and you’ll find mostly fresh produce from the locals. Fruit and veggies from their own orchards/veg gardens, and also fresh milk, cream and cheese.

    The watermelon sellers are mostly from the southern regions such as Oltenia, as watermelons only grow in the hotter sunnier south. Northern towns such as Cehu are some of their selling points and they stay in until they sell them all, or until the summer ends at which point they usually lower the price to sell it quickly so they can return home.

Leave a Reply

