Romania: The Fish-Shaped Country

One touristy item I always look for whenever I visit another country is a car decal. They also make for great souvenir gifts for friends and family back home since they’re so cheap!

I had several decals from numerous countries on the back and rear side windows of my last car.

(Yes, that sticker at the top middle of the back window does say, “You shall not pass!” I’m not ashamed of how far my Lord of the Rings obsession has taken me.)

Anyways…

The sticker below is one that I got at a gas station in Romania. I can’t remember how much it was, but it couldn’t have cost more than the equivalent of 5 USD. Romania’s flag is blue, yellow, and red, which can be seen on the decal below.

There are plenty of websites such as Zazzle and eBay that sell bumper stickers and decals like these if you don’t have time to look for one while you’re visiting a country, or if you want one but have never actually been to the country yourself.

I was asked all the time why I had a fish-shaped sticker on the back of my car. It took me a while to realize that people were referring to the decal below (which I ordered off of eBay).

I guess from far away it sort of looks like a fish, but to me it’s always looked like what it is: an outline of Romania.

What do you think? Does it look like a fish to you, or just some random shape?

Leave a Reply

